Had my first scan! 27.06.2016

Today I had my first scan! My approximation on how far along I am was indeed correct πŸ™‚ I am currently 14 weeks pregnant to the day (28.06.2016) and its also my birthdaaaaay πŸ™‚ The lady who did my scan was lovely! I couldn’t have asked for a better Sonographer.

So I wasn’t feeling nervous but by the time we arrived at the waiting room for my appointment and bought the tokens so I could get some scan photos I was feeling so nervous. Not really sure why! So she called my name and we went into the room, and she put the gel on my stomach (which isn’t actually as cold as some people make out!)

After moving the thing around and seeing my baby on the screen – it was so weird! I could see it moving inside of me but I couldn’t feel it! she wasn’t happy with the quality of the images so she sent me away for half an hour and then told me to go back! (dragged not going back to work out a bit;)) Had a lovely costa and back in we went – the images were much better! It didn’t look like my baby was chopped in half this time – haha!

Its so surreal seeing the little head and nose, the hands moving up to the side of the head and seeing the little feet! I can’t wait until my next scan in August πŸ™‚ They did the screening for down syndrome, the way Β they do it on the scanning screen just measuring the fluid at the back of the baby’s neck combined with my age and the size of the baby and that gives a percentage of the risk of Downs. As I’m only 21 and in good health the risk is super low πŸ™‚

The baby is 15.5cm long! Im not sure if this is bigger than a baby should be at 14 weeks? Showing everyone the scan photos at work they said the baby looked big! Unless the image was just zoomed in πŸ™‚ According to my standard pregnancy app it says the baby at 14 weeks is the size of a peach and 8cm??! that cannot be right surely.. unless I’m reading the scan photograph wrong. It says at the very top 15.5cm. Unsure if thats the length of the baby now.. Can anyone with some experience of scan photographs enlighten me please?! haha

But yep thats pretty much an overview of what happened, I had a blood test and then I was off πŸ™‚ Its so strange now, I know how the baby is laid. When my stomach is a little higher at one end I can just about feel the head! πŸ™‚

My first scan photo: (13 weeks 6 days)

fullsizerender

fullsizerender-2

Kirsty x

Leave a Reply

